Team Leicestershire


“Team Leicestershire” is a collaboration of four Badminton groups within Leicestershire:

  • Leicestershire Badminton Association (LBA)
  • Leicestershire Badminton Coaches Association (LBCA)
  • Leicestershire Schools Badminton Association (LSBA)
  • Performance Centre (PC)

 We aim to provide a seamless structure that allows people to learn, play, compete and enjoy badminton from the cradle to grave…


Leicestershire Badminton Association (

The LBA essentially runs adult badminton within Leicestershire. This includes the adult leagues, 4 senior county teams, U21 team, the masters county teams and no strings sessions.

The Chairman is Steve Lofthouse and the Senior County Captain is Mark King.

Leicestershire Badminton Coaches Association

The LBCA runs coach education courses, raises funds to help deliver badminton in the schools throughout the county and identify talented young players for the performance centre.

The Chairman is Rowland Tatton.

 Leicestershire Schools Badminton Association (

The LSBA essentially runs junior badminton within Leicestershire. This includes junior county teams (U11, U13, U15 and U17; North Midway Leagues at U11, U12, U14 and U16), non-county tournaments and the Leicestershire Schools Badminton Leagues.

The Chairman is Dave Armstrong and the Junior County Captain is Chris Hall.

Performance Centre

The aim of the performance centre is to identify talented young badminton players in Leicestershire and provide the structure and expert coaching to develop them into successful club, county and national badminton players.

The Head Coach is Tom Armstrong and the Performance Director is Anthony Clark.


Hopefully this gives you information needed to understand the badminton structure a little better in the County. Further information is on the websites listed above.

More volunteers are always welcome so if you feel that you would like to be involved in any of the above groups please drop an email to or have a chat with either myself or a current member of any of the committees.



Mark King

Chairman, Team Leicestershire